Start Your Home Inspection Career with PHII!  

Username Password

Professional Home Inspection Institute

Call (800) 983-6322Quick Links

8am-8pm Mon-Fri 8am-4pm Sat CST

inspecthost free membership

Home Inspection Field Labs

Fees: Vary | Days: 1-2 | Type: Field | Enroll

PHII students who enroll in the online course can attend a free, 1-day live field training lab at our training facility in Madison, South Dakota, the third Saturday of every other month (call to reserve space), or can attend field training in other states such as Florida for an additional fee. Our training labs include a live, hands-on property inspection and time working on home inspection reports and exam prep. While lab training is not a requirement for certification, it's a great way to get hands on experience and mentoring, and is another reason why students choose PHII.

All labs include hands-on property inspections. Labs can be taken after you have finished your online training. Please call to reserve lab space well in advance. For
Illinois, which previously required lab training, you are now required to attend 5 inspection events, with a licensed inspector. We can help you set up inspections, or you can choose your own inspector.

Field Training Lab Experience

Our field labs take place in Madison, South Dakota, and in various other cities for an additional cost. The purpose of our field labs is both to satisfy certain state requirements, and to give students hands-on experience with the systems and components they will be inspecting.

We have had students from many states attend our labs which provide a hands-on experience inspecting residential properties, explaining conditions, and filling out reports. Your PHII instructors are well-qualified to help you prepare for your career.

2015 PHII Live Training Lab Schedule





 Feb. 13-14 Fri.-Sat.  Madison, SD  2-Day Lab (Kentucky)

Free to Students

 Feb. 14, 2015 Sat.  Madison, SD  1-Day General Lab

Free to Students

 Feb. 14, 2015 Sat. Tampa (Riverview), FL  1-Day Lab (Florida)


 Apr. 24-25 Fri.-Sat.  Madison, SD  2-Day Lab (Kentucky)

Free to Students

 Apr. 25, 2015 Sat.  Madison, SD  1-Day General Lab

Free to Students

 Apr. 25, 2015 Sat. Tampa (Riverview), FL  1-Day Lab (Florida)


 Jun. 19-20 Fri.-Sat.  Madison, SD  2-Day Lab (Kentucky)

Free to Students

 Jun. 20, 2015 Sat.  Madison, SD  1-Day General Lab

Free to Students

 Jun. 20, 2015 Sat. Tampa (Riverview), FL  1-Day Lab (Florida)


 Aug. 14-15 Fri.-Sat.  Madison, SD  2-Day Lab (Kentucky)

Free to Students

 Aug. 15, 2015 Sat.  Madison, SD  1-Day General Lab

Free to Students

 Aug. 15, 2015 Sat. Tampa (Riverview), FL  1-Day Lab (Florida)


 Oct. 23-24 Fri.-Sat.  Madison, SD  2-Day Lab (Kentucky)

Free to Students

 Oct. 24, 2015 Sat.  Madison, SD  1-Day General Lab

Free to Students

 Oct. 24, 2015 Sat. Tampa (Riverview), FL  1-Day Lab (Florida)


 Dec. 4-5 Fri.-Sat.  Madison, SD  2-Day Lab (Kentucky)

Free to Students

 Dec. 5, 2015 Sat.  Madison, SD  1-Day General Lab

Free to Students

*Reservation by phone at least 2 weeks in advance is required for all labs.

Traveling to South Dakota for Training Labs

Air/Ground Travel
If you live out of the area and wish to travel to Madison, South Dakota to attend a free lab, we can help you plan the best method of air or ground travel. We are familiar with the airlines and rental services that service this area, so please call us before making permanent travel reservations as we may be able to help you find the best routes to take or the most economical fares.

Below is a list of lodging facilities in the Madison area. Some offer discounts if you tell them you are attending the Professional Home Inspection Institute.

Hotels in Madison, SD (0 mi.)

  • AmericInn (605) 256-3076
  • Lake Park Motel (605) 256-3524
  • Super 8 (605) 256-6931

Hotels in Howard, SD (21 mi.)

  • Freddy's Motel (605) 772-4531

Pheasant Hunting Lodges (25 mi.)

  • Spring Lake Hunting Lodge
  • Oldham, SD (605) 482-8000

Gaming Casinos (31 mi.)

  • Royal River Casino and Hotel
  • Flandreau, SD (877) 912-5825

All PHII graduates receive a free 1-year membership in the National Society of Home Inspectors (NSHI), a non-profit professional home inspector association.

30-Day Money-Back Guarantee!

satisfaction guarantee
Before you enroll in any home inspection school, will they
guarantee your satisfaction
unconditionally a month later?

We do. That's the PHII difference!